PARK AND RECREATION COMMITTEE

2-04-16 8:30 p.m.

Members Present: Clint Braun, Jerald Ignash, Todd Talaski Others Present: David Quinn, Dan Tighe and Dena Withey

The committee discussed the plans for the Breakwall area. Dan Tighe brought a chart, which consisted of two pages, showing the steps that will be required if the committee wishes to apply for the DNR Trust Fund Grant. The requirements include application deadline, registering online, public input, letters of support, etc. Tighe explained that points are given for certain steps (being linked to Water Trail, Universal Design (Disability Act), and poor community).

Grant discussion continued after Dan Tighe left meeting. Quinn stated he received a quote from Saginaw Asphalt of \$110,000 for the breakwall parking lot. Members agreed to continue with process of applying for grant. They set a date of February 25, to meet at 6:30 pm with individuals who are interested in the disability requirements of the breakwall project.

Motion by Talaski and second by Ignash to set a Public Hearing on March 14, before the Council meeting, for public input on the breakwall project.

Public Comments:

John Jordan expressed his view on having lights on the breakwall that are lower, so the night sky can be viewed.

The Phragmites removal project was discussed. Members agreed to gather more information before moving forward. The areas of the phragmites were discussed (around Wooded Island and Ice relief channel). Members discussed having the Fire Department assistance in burning the phragmites. They agreed that letters to the property owners should be sent, to receive permission for the Fire Department to access their property along waterways.

Motion by Ignash second by Talaski to recommend to Council that the Fire Department be asked to burn phragmites, all ayes, motion carried.

Other Business:

Quinn informed the members that he contracted Lee's Landscaping to fertilize GAR Park this upcoming season for \$266.00.

Meeting adjourned at 10:04 a.m.

Dena Withey Secretary Clint Braun Chairperson